overlook1

As many of you are aware the happenings on the east coast of the United States have seen some odd occurrences. I suppose ‘odd’ is a tad bit of an misnomer, but understand that my brain was still  having a hard time putting everything I see into some semblance of reality. Damn I really hoped I’d figure this out soon, sleep had been a rather fickle mistress to that point. Some of the shit I had seen would cause even the hardiest veteran back home on the force to drop to his knees and retch, had he not already just simply turned around and left. That would have been the smart thing to do…but there I was sitting on a rock overlooking what appeared to be the remnants of some damn forest fire. It was as close to hell as I had ever seen.

overlook3

I had been requested to investigate a rather odd report of strange creatures wandering around the old Overlook motel. Understand that although my words suggest some passing familiarity, I was far from it. A strange feeling swept over me as I traveled down the highway on foot. Wasn’t much use in using a car, had I even had one available. There were wrecks both on and off the street. This should have been my first clue that something wasn’t right. I still trudged on. Car wrecks weren’t the reason I was here after all. Like any good sting, it is about location. There just was nothing to be had. No sooner had I found a spot, then I would be jumped by some manner of otherworldly beast. These were things that had no place being in my nightmares, let alone in front of me. It wasn’t long before my vest had taken a pounding. Everywhere else was just scratches and bruises.

overlook2

All night it was the same thing. Find a spot to hide, lose a spot to hide. The same scene was repeated over and over. By the early morning my mind was rebelling against every step I had taken. To be honest, I thought I was going insane. Maybe I was, yet I somehow managed to find an unlocked door into this messed up building. As I walked into the room I swear every follicle of hair on me rose in unison. I didn’t listen to that voice in my head. What I saw next though changed everything. Right in the middle of the room stood a door. Surrounding that door was an intense heat.  That was when my mind took over, it forced me to listen. I was in over my head, and every fiber in my body knew it. I don’t know how long I stood there staring at that door, but I couldn’t move. When finally I returned to some semblance of normalcy. I felt my body simply turn around and leave. I don’t have a good explanation for my actions then and to be honest I don’t owe any. I wasn’t hired to enter a door in the middle of a room with flames surrounding it. It was way above my pay grade. Let some other poor fool risk his life. Yet in all truthfulness, I knew I would be back. It was not like me to leave this alone. It as never really my way.

Stephen Zarovich is a consulting author for Tuppenny Dreadful.

@Vareden72

varaden

Funny thing happened to me the other day. I was asked by a very close friend of mine to write a blog for her paper. She wanted something from law enforcement, and felt I could give that perspective. I suppose she thought being an officer with the R.C.M.P. would give me some unique insights. At first I was going to turn it down. Hell I have never written anything worth publishing in my life. Colorful reports notwithstanding of course. The closest I have ever got to creative writing was a love letter to a high school sweetheart. Needless to say I didn’t write much after that.

Well, back on track here. After much debate with myself, I relented. I decided to go for it. What the hell right? What could possibly go wrong other then maybe universal condemnation, or becoming a laughing stock. Well after all the shit going on in the last year, might be worth it to spread a little laughter .  I am sure after many nights observing people around London, a lot of them could use a good laugh.

So here I am, my first article. Okay, more an introduction really. Not many people know me, and for the longest time I was perfectly content with that. To be honest I was always happy letting someone else get the attention or reward. I go in, do my job, and arrest the bad guys. Let politicians take all the credit along with the headaches. I could do without the ulcer to be honest.

Moving forward I hope to bring a decidedly unique angle to our crazy world. One I hope  gives people pause to look at things a bit differently. At the very least I hope it is mildly entertaining for all of you.

